The Council
The CouncilThe Council

The Council

Port Augusta City Council covers the city of Port Augusta, including Stirling North, and the seaside homes located at Commissariat Point, Blanche Harbor and Miranda and has a population 13,808 (ABS Census 2016).

The elected Council comprises of the mayor and nine councillors, with Port Augusta City Council responsible for a diverse range of services including aged care, child care, tourism facilities, parks and gardens, ovals, art galleries and performance centres, roads and bridges, street lighting, children’s special needs centre, Aboriginal community development, drug and alcohol management, town planning, and library and information services.

Port Augusta is uniquely located on Spencers Gulf, with the Flinders Ranges providing a spectacular backdrop.  It is also located on Australia’s crossroads for both rail and road.