

MEDIA RELEASE

Port Augusta's new Elected Members made official.

Port Augusta's new Elected Members have been officially sworn in and are looking forward to ensuring the city fully capitalises on their future vision, strong connection, and leadership capabilities.

Linley Shine was sworn in as Port Augusta's new Mayor, taking over from Brett Benbow. Nine other elected members were also officially appointed to Port Augusta City Council.

Elected Members returning from the previous council are Louise Foote, John Naisbitt, Sunny Singh, Phillip Brown and Maralyn Marsh. The new elected members are Sam Bates, Mark Myers, Michael McKinley and Nora Bennett.

Ms Shine had served on the Port Augusta Council for four years prior to successfully being elected as Mayor.

"I am so honoured and privileged to be given this opportunity and am grateful for the support from the Port Augusta community." Mayor Shine stated.

"We now have some hard work ahead of us, however through constructive, support and collaborative efforts we can, and will, move Port Augusta forward."

"My long professional career has involved working across both the government and not-forprofit sectors in the areas of corporate governance, social policy, and sound engagement with a diverse range of stakeholders across regional and remote South Australia."

"I have extensive experience in leadership and representation, and importantly, I walk the talk and strive for excellence and accountability. I will bring a stronger, consultative, community voice to the role of Mayor, and that is what my leadership will focus on."

Port Augusta CEO John Banks thanked the community for their voting support during this year's Council election.

JOHN BANKS CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER 22/11/2022